Dr. Steven Fliesler, PhD FARVO

SUNY-Buffalo / VA Med Ctr-Buffalo

Contact Details


Steven J. Fliesler, PhD, is the Meyer H. Riwchun Endowed Chair Professor of Ophthalmology, Vice-Chairman/ Director of Research in the Department of Ophthalmology, Professor of Biochemistry and Neuroscience, and UB Distinguished Professor at the State University of New York- University at Buffalo (U.S.A.). He also is a Research Health Scientist in the Research Service of the Veterans Administration Western New York Healthcare System (VAWNYHS), at the Buffalo VA Medical Center. After obtaining a B.A. in Biochemistry from the University of California at Berkeley, he obtained a Ph.D. in Biochemistry from Rice University (Houston, TX), and did postdoctoral research in vision research at the Cullen Eye Institute, Baylor College of Medicine (Houston, TX). Prior to his current academic positions, Dr. Fliesler held faculty positions at Baylor College of Medicine, the University of Miami School of Medicine, and Saint Louis University School of Medicine. His major interests are in lipid metabolism, especially cholesterol metabolism, in relation to their involvement in maintaining the normal structure and function of the retina. Dr. Fliesler currently serves on the editorial boards of 9 other journals, including the Journal of Lipid Research, Experimental Eye Research, Eye and Brain, and Molecular Vision. He has received multiple honors and awards, including a James S. Adams Scholar Award (1992) and a Senior Scientist Award (2007) from Research to Prevent Blindness, a SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities (2014), and the rank of UB Distinguished Professor (2014). He has given multiple named lectures and keynote presentations at universities and scientific meetings in the U.S. and abroad. He has authored or coauthored >130 peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters, and has edited two books. He has served as Councilor for North America, Treasurer, President-elect, President, and Immediate Past President of the International Society for Eye Research (ISER). For ARVO, he formerly served as Chair of the Publications Committee, is currently a member of the Board of Trustees, and is a Gold-tier Fellow of ARVO.